India TravelTravel BlogTravel experiences

Traincations in India: Luxury train journeys

Train journeys are always so exciting and give us a blast from the past. Imagine the excitement if it is a luxury train journey with 5-star amenities. Such incredible luxury train journeys with royal interiors are becoming an integral part of Incredible India. Apart from the luxury stay and dining, it also promises you of a royal treatment throughout. Isn’t that royally great?!!

Indian Railways is taking effort for improvisation of facilities in these trains. There is no better way to show the foreigners the royal country of India than traveling through these trains. These train journeys are usually for a week or so with a fixed itinerary. You get to stay on the train in your room with cozy beds. And you dine like a royal in the grand dining rooms. They also have all the other luxuries like spa and gyms.

For first part of Train journeys in India, read this blog: Toy trains in India

Luxury Train journeys in India

Let’s take a tour of these incredible luxury trains of incredible India:

Luxury train #1: Palace on wheels:

Rajasthan is an epitome of royalty and ‘Palace on Wheels’ of Rajasthan proves so. Starting from the royal welcome to the lavish itinerary and sumptuous meals, this train journey has all the luxuries of a five star hotel. The interiors of the train reflect the tasteful Rajasthani architecture. It is said that a few coaches in the train were actually taken from the royals of Rajasthan. There are two hotels in the train – Maharaja and Maharani. The coaches are named after the cities in Rajasthan like Jaipur, Udaipur, Jaisalmer etc. The cabin rooms have 2 beds, own separate toilet, a television and even wi-fi. The restaurants serve the delicious Rajasthani cuisine as you traverse through different cities in Rajasthan. The journey starts from New Delhi and is of 9 days.

The details of the train are as below:

Route: New Delhi — Jaipur — Sawai Madhopur and Chittaurgarh — Udaipur — Jaisalmer — Jodhpur — Bharatpur — Agra — New Delhi

Cost: Get the tariff information from this link:

See the video below to get an idea of how luxurious the train is:


Luxury train #2: The Deccan Odyssey:

While Rajasthan offers the Palace on wheels, Maharashtra offers The Deccan Odyssey. Starting from Mumbai, this train goes on multiple routes.

The train has luxury coaches named after the cities in Maharashtra like Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, etc and has two dining options – Peshwa 1 and Peshwa 2. It has a lounge and a spa and also a conference car along with video calling facility. The royals of Maharashtra have inspired the architecture of the train. As you embark upon the train journeys, you get a chance to visit the incredible Maharastra with the UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Ajanta and Ellora, the coast of Goa and Sindhudurg. You can also choose journeys to Gujarat and Rajasthan from this train.

Routes: The train has multiple itineraries and you can take any journey as per your liking. You can browse through these itineraries and their cost on this link –

See the video below to get an idea of how luxurious the train is:


Luxury train #3: The Golden Chariot:

The pride of Karnataka is the Golden Chariot train. Karnataka has many UNESCO World Heritage sites like Hampi, Aihole etc. And you get to explore all these during your train journey with the Golden Chariot. This train is equipped with luxury cabin rooms and two dining cars named Nala and Ruchi. It also has one lounge bar, Ayurveda spa, gym and even a business centre. The train was closed for renovation and will start operating again from March 2020.

Routes: Bengaluru–Bandipur–Mysore–Halebidu and Chikamgaluru–Hampi–Badami–Goa–Bengaluru

 Cost :The cost is mentioned in the link below:

These train journeys can be great for a luxury family travel. You will get a dash of royalty by staying here. Aren’t these trains surely a dream?

Schedule these train journeys through our mobile app – Think Metime!!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button